Mailbox Plan and User permitted Mailbox DB  

  RSS

Alen Hodzic
(@alenhodzic)
Active Member
Joined:2 years  ago
Posts: 17
2016-10-14 04:18  

Is it possible to add to mailbox plan if user can use archiving or not. For example, remove "Archiving Enabled" for Basic plan (or whatever it is called).

And if it is possible to limit Company Admin which Mailbox DB can he use. This is important if we have DB for Public Folders or Archive Mailboxes.

Also can we restrict Company admin to change Mailbox plan. This should be only Reseller's permission.

Thank you.


ReplyQuote
Alen Hodzic
(@alenhodzic)
Active Member
Joined:2 years  ago
Posts: 17
2016-11-22 02:31  

Hello Jacob,

Any thoughts on this?

Thank you.


ReplyQuote
Jacob Dixon
(@jdixon)
Prominent Member Admin
Joined:4 years  ago
Posts: 847
2016-11-25 09:22  

I have added the option to lock down company admins from changing the mailbox plans. Also what is the reasoning for you making sure public folders and archive mailboxes are in different databases?

I think you are asking if we can add "Archive Enabled" to the mailbox plans instead of them currently being separate? This is something we most likely will not do unless there is a more specific reason to.


ReplyQuote
Alen Hodzic
(@alenhodzic)
Active Member
Joined:2 years  ago
Posts: 17
2016-11-30 07:57  

Hello Jacob,

How can we restrict company admins from changing the mailbox plans?

The reason for seperating public folders and archive mailboxes from user mailbox db is maybe to have archive mailboxes on slower sata disks or something like that. Maybe this can be done manualy in Exchange.

And finaly, maybe you didn't understood me. We want to be able to offer archiving in some plans, and in others don't. For example, in some basic plan, company admin does not have the option to enable archiving. I hope this is more clear.


ReplyQuote
Jacob Dixon
(@jdixon)
Prominent Member Admin
Joined:4 years  ago
Posts: 847
2016-12-05 12:03  

Right now you cannot restrict admins from changing mailbox plans. We will look into this and the archiving plans like you are mentioning.


ReplyQuote
Eric_Maxtech
(@eric_maxtech)
New Member Customer
Joined:10 months  ago
Posts: 3
2018-05-11 08:42  

Just as a follow up to this, being able to restricted updating mailbox plans is kind of an issue..  we have multiple mailbox plans, some specifically oriented for specific clients.  If a "company admin" goes to the users they see the mailbox plan, which is ok, but if they edit the user, they can change it.  When they drop the menu down they have access to any plan in the system including those that may be labeled with another company name, etc.  Plus for the most part, changing mailbox plans is a billable item for most and wouldn't want someone changing without our knowledge.  Security wise, I don't want to have the client be able to see another clients individual mailbox plan (since again we have it named or the description indicates who it is for).

The issue for you guys may be this is a function at the exchange level, maybe the best way to handle it is on in the menu system itself.  In editing mode, CP maybe should check "isCompanyAdmin" and if so, dont display that  option?  Not sure what levels you have, "isAdmin", edit ability.  "isReseller", edit ability.  "IsCompanyAdmin", disable.  All based on the company admin profile obviously 🙂


ReplyQuote
Jacob Dixon
(@jdixon)
Prominent Member Admin
Joined:4 years  ago
Posts: 847
2018-05-11 08:48  

If you specify the company on the mailbox plan then other companies will not be able to see or use this plan. It simply will not show in the dropdown list. With CloudPanel there is a permission group where you can specify if a company admin or reseller admin can update a user, but we recognize that you may want to be able to update the user but not the plan. I think this suggestion is very valid and will make sure it gets put in CloudPanel. What we will do is add a checkbox for editing mailbox plan to the permission group and default it to TRUE for existing permission groups, but you can change it after the upgrade.

I'll update this post when it is finished. 


ReplyQuote
Eric_Maxtech
(@eric_maxtech)
New Member Customer
Joined:10 months  ago
Posts: 3
2018-05-11 09:03  

Agreed and I did just find that option on limited a specific pan to a specific company.  A while back when reviewing the optiosn (as i learned the system) I thought that option was basically "assign this to a specific company's users now" option.. as in "I just made a new plan and I want to add it to everyone for this company now" type of thing.  I actually just re-read that little side note description and tested it out.  After defining the plans that were for specific clients, it now doesn't show them to other clients.  Only our "stock" plans show, 1GB, 10GB, 25GB and 50GB.  I simply added in the description to the latter 3 (Billable) which should make someone think twice before changing without contacting us.  Maybe.  lol

 


ReplyQuote
Share:
  
Working

Please Login or Register